print logo
RSS FEED

Articles by Veronique de Rugy

Slay This Tax 'Monster' Saturday, April 2, 2011
A soak-the-rich measure is badly in need of reform.
Another Day Older and Deeper in Debt… Thursday, January 13, 2011
If lawmakers are going to vote in favor of raising the debt ceiling, they should do it only in exchange for a change in the country’s direction.
Two Cheers for Rivlin-Ryan Thursday, January 6, 2011
How a modest plan shows progress in Washington is possible.
A Con Job on Jobs Tuesday, November 2, 2010
I was no fan of President Bush’s economic policies. But President Obama’s take on Bush-era job creation compared to his own is wide of the mark.
Taxes and Presidential Math Tuesday, October 5, 2010
Let’s compare the size of the tax cuts to the total amount of spending over the next ten years and see how ‘drastically’ it would expand the deficit.
When Debt Flies Off the Charts Thursday, July 15, 2010
Under one realistic future scenario, the nation’s debt becomes so large that Congressional Budget Office models break down.
It Depends on What the Definition of ‘Austerity’ Is Thursday, July 1, 2010
Paul Krugman says we are in a 'new era of austerity.' When will government spending be enough?
Athens on the Potomac Friday, June 4, 2010
Paul Krugman is right: America isn’t Greece. That doesn’t mean we aren’t in worrisome shape. And by one measure, we are in worse shape than Greece.
In-the-Red State Wednesday, May 12, 2010
When we properly account for Social Security, our national deficit proves worse.
America's Precarious Net Position Thursday, April 1, 2010
Our financial future is darker than generally expressed through deficit numbers—way darker.
Mediscare: Our Government-Administered Insurance Looks into the Abyss Thursday, March 18, 2010
Just how bad is Medicare’s future? Ask its Trustees.
What Unsustainable Looks Like Wednesday, March 3, 2010
President Obama’s freeze of the non-defense, non-homeland security side of the budget will do nothing to get us on the path of fiscal responsibility. Here’s ...
The Limits of Blaming Bush Saturday, February 6, 2010
In his latest budget request, President Obama added roughly $1.6 trillion in spending over the next ten years on top of what he requested last year. Can ...
President Obama’s Binge Diet Thursday, January 28, 2010
The proposed budget freeze is akin to skipping dessert after binging at an all-you-can-eat buffet, and still hoping to lose weight.
So How Is the Stimulus Working Out? Part II Saturday, January 23, 2010
If not for the mass exit of workers from the labor force, unemployment numbers would look even worse.
The High Cost of No Price Tuesday, January 12, 2010
A simple chart will help you understand why healthcare spending has gone out of control.
Why Reform Will Cost Taxpayers More, Much More Saturday, December 26, 2009
Let’s look at some of our recent cost overruns in government-driven medical spending.
The Jobs Picture Crashes Into Debt Realities Friday, December 4, 2009
If President Obama is serious about the economy, he should start by tackling the debt and its cost before he thinks of adding yet more money to the deficit for ...
State of the Stimulus Tuesday, November 10, 2009
One reason unemployment continues to rise may be that stimulus funds did not target high-unemployment states.
A Peek Inside the Deficit Tuesday, October 20, 2009
Yes, the recession led to a shortfall in tax revenue, but the deficit is mostly a product of enormous amounts of government spending.
So How Is the Stimulus Working Out? Wednesday, October 7, 2009
As stimulus spending has increased, so has unemployment.
Making Bush Look Like a Piker Wednesday, September 30, 2009
The Bush-era deficits were bad. I know. I spent eight years complaining about them. How does President Obama stack up?
Is This What Deregulation Looks Like? Thursday, September 17, 2009
It is hard to argue that deregulation of the financial services industry was rampant in Washington when the spending on finance and banking regulatory agencies ...
 
AEI